South Carolina becomes 17th state to ban abortions after 20 weeks
South Carolina on Tuesday became the 17th state to acknowledge an unborn baby’s capacity for pain and pass a bill to ban abortions at 20 weeks of gestation or later.
“It’s a great day in South Carolina,” said Faye Hill, executive director of the Lowcountry Crisis Pregnancy Center. “I believe that more babies will be saved from abortion in our state.”
After a six-year battle in the state between legislators, the Pain-Capable Unborn Child Protection Act passed the state Senate in March. On Tuesday night, South Carolina’s General Assembly approved it 79-29. South Carolina Gov. Nikki Haley, a Republican, said earlier this year she could not see a scenario in which she would not sign the bill into law.
The bill states there is substantial evidence that after 19 weeks of gestation, an unborn child reacts to stimuli and can feel pain during an abortion. If the bill is signed into law, abortionists will not be able to perform abortions at 20 weeks of gestation or more with the exceptions of when the mother’s life is in danger or a doctor determines the unborn baby will not survive outside the womb.
Under the bill, someone caught performing an abortion at or after the 20-week mark could get hit with a $10,000 fine and jailed up to three years.
This article continues at [World Mag] South Carolina legislature passes 20-week abortion ban